Toto, We’re Not in Poca Anymore – Wellington’s Cafe

Ashley says…

Since I’ve never met any of The Five and I’ve joined their blog as a Forker, Susan and I agreed it was time we met in person.  And what better way to do so than over a meal!  So I met Susan at Wellington’s Café for lunch on Tuesday last week. 

Wellington’s offers a daily special that is the same each week. Tuesday’s special is fried chicken, mashed potatoes and creamed corn.  I heard some others in the place mention that it was homemade creamed corn.  I once had a bad experience with creamed corn so it kind of turns my stomach just thinking about it.  Plus, I wasn’t feeling like having a huge meal for lunch.  But an hour later, I’m feeling like I should have. 

I chose the fresh made chicken salad selection off the menu that was served with fresh fruit and a muffin.  The name of it was something like “Signature” or “World Famous” (I know that really isn’t what it said, but you get the drift) so I had to give it a try.  When my plate arrived, all three items looked great.  The portion of chicken salad, served on a few lettuce leaves, was a little sparse, but it tasted really good.  It had huge chunks of chicken breast and pineapple along with celery, pecans and coarsely chopped onion all in a dill mayonnaise dressing.    I don’t like raw onions so I picked them out.  The pieces were really big, and probably too big even for an onion-lover, or not.  Either way, I was glad they were that big because it made them easier to pick out.  I got lots of fresh cantelope, honeydew, pineapple and grapes alongside the chicken salad and two mini lemon poppy seed muffins.  I ate one of the muffins and it was ok, but that flavor just isn’t my favorite.   And besides, I didn’t want to sit there chatting with Susan with poppy seeds in my teeth.  That would have made for a rather embarrassing first impression.    

Some of the other  menu options also sounded good like the hot bologna, another special of the day, the grilled ham and cheese, the hot dog (since it got a great review by the WV Hot Dog Blog), the Reuben  and the homemade soups and desserts.  Maybe next time.

I ordered water to drink even though they sold Pepsi products and Diet Pepsi is my soft drink of choice.  However, it was in cans, and that is a big turnoff for me.  They do brew their own tea, which is a good thing,  and I really should have ordered it.  

I liked my meal, but it just wasn’t filling enough for me.     

THREE FORKS.

Susan says…

I figured if Wellington’s was good enough for the WV Hot Dog Blog, it was good enough for Fork You.  After all, they gave the place Five Weenies for their WV hot dog.  I was anxious to see how the other food would rate.  (Stanton has prohibited me from ordering hot dogs since I put that red stuff on them.)

You might ask yourself: “Is this the Wellington’s of ‘Wellington’s of Scarlet Oaks’ fame?”   The answer: Yes it is.  I heard from a friend who heard from a cousin who supposedly read in the paper that Wellington’s moved out of the Poca Country Club, breaking the lease as they went.  Perhaps this is why they went as far away as Elk River.  I dunno.   

When I reported the presence of a fruity chicken salad on the Wellington’s menu to Misty(a favorite dish of hers), she described it in detail – same chicken salad as they served in Poca.  Misty, you see, is a Poca Dot, so she was familiar with the previous incarnation of this restaurant.

I was disappointed in the menu.  The Tuesday special was too home-cookin’ for my liking (and too fattening), and the other choices were just not appealing to me.  The sandwiches appeared to be served on regular sandwich bread so I didn’t want that.  I was not up for the ridicule I would receive if I wrote about another hot dog, prepared the way a 4-year old would like it.  Chicken strips?  I can get those out of the freezer case at Sam’s.  I inquired about the hamburger and upon learning that it was pattied fresh in the kitchen, I went with that, the least unappealing choice for $4.95.  Instead of chips, I upgraded to fries for an additional $1.50.

I really splurged by ordering a soda (I am trying to cut back on soda by drinking water at lunch) and Ashley broke the news to me as soon as the server walked away:  the soda is in a can.  Ugh.  I should have just cancelled the order and asked for water.  I understand why they might not want to go to the trouble of fountain soda in that small diner, but I just despise canned soda.  Especially if the place has the audacity to charge $1.50 for it. 

I ordered my burger platter without the pickle.  And while I appreciate the menu detailing the little booger would be served to me, I did not appreciate receiving it in my little plastic tray after I 86’d it.  Thankfully it wasn’t a particularly juicy pickle so it did little damage.   It was indeed a hand-pattied burger, but it couldn’t hold a candle to Murad’s.  It was just okay.  The size of the burger was appropriate for the toasted bun but it did not have the “wow” factor.  The fries, frozen just as I expected, were sub par.  Definitely not worth the upgrade. 

With the tip, my total approached $10.  Yikes! 

I am sure Misty will drag me back there since she got all a flutter about the chicken salad.  When she does, I am getting a hot dog.  Just don’t tell Stanton.

TWO FORKS.

Wellington’s Cafe and Catering
2153 Greenbrier Street
Charleston, WV 25311-9623
(304) 343-3222
7 responses to “Toto, We’re Not in Poca Anymore – Wellington’s Cafe

  1. I just have to say: Susan has been really slacking around here…I have been waiting all week for her to post this so I could talk about the chicken salad.

    I’m glad to see that the location is the only thing that changed-not this chicken salad. This is one of my favorites.

    It is very flavorful and fruity. I love the fact that it has pineapple and pecans in it. It can be a little runny, but I’m not going to fault it for that. You just need to be prepared for that and get all the other food out of the way (especially if you don’t like your food to touch like me!)

    Another tip…it is a great topping for potato chips!

  2. That has to be one of the most unattractive plates of chicken salad I’ve ever seen.

  3. Yeah, it’s not a very good picture. It looked better in person.

  4. Have any of you guys been back for a second round. I have not eaten there since they left Poca. No fine dining then, I guess.

  5. Talked to one of the previous owners over the week-end and was informed of the new location and he praised the “good food”. Since we plan to be in the area later today we thought we would give it a try. I pulled this up in hopes of finding the business hours. After reading this reveiw and seeing the pictures of the food, I think we will pass. We can get this or better just about anywhere…thanks so much.

  6. Deirdre Purdy

    Wellington’s catered my daughter’s wedding in April. 125 for sit-down dinner & it was SUPERB. They worked with us on the menu, used some of our family recipes, provided all servers, table linens, silver, tended bar & dessert bar & gave my daughter the “family style” dinner she wanted. The food was marvelous (especially a ramp & heirloom dried tomato polenta they did using my tomatoes). The service was friendly, swift & extremely professional. Everything, including all delivery & clean-up was $40/person & we got to keep the leftovers. My kitchens were as clean or cleaner than when they started. Cannot say enough good things about Wellington’s catering.

  7. Wellingtons did not break their previous lease!! As usual the papers never follow up on their original story, the case went to court and found the leasor in default and exonerated wellingtons of any wrong doing.

Leave a Reply

