You Don’t Need a Hog To Enjoy This Food – Fat Bob’s Roadhouse

fat bob outside

Misty says…

I have heard from many people about the greatness of FatBobs.  I’ve always avoided it because 1.  I’ve heard that it is “crazy” busy and 2. Motorcycles are just not how I roll and I figured I would stick out like a sore thumb.  But I was assured that this would not be a Dome experience and was on my way to try it.

When we walked in, I was pleasantly surprised.  It was much different than I expected.  We walked through a very clean showroom to get to the eating area.  The eating area was much smaller than I expected.  There were only 3 or 4 booths, a few tables and some bar seating.  But luckily we were there early and grabbed a table.  (FYI- After being there for about 5 minutes, all the tables were full- but there was still some bar seating.)

fat bob jalapeno burger

jalapeno burger

There was only one waitress and one lady cooking the orders (I like that…items definitely cooked fresh).  The waitress was very busy and kept apologizing and telling us she would get our orders soon.  I appreciated the fact that she didn’t just breeze by us and pretend that we weren’t there.  We could tell she was really busy.

She finally made it to our table and took our order.  I was going to get the Fatbob- which is 8oz of fresh ground chuck with American or Swiss cheese, lettuce, tomato, onion and special sauce.  But I opted for the more diet friendly (ha, ha) Genuine Classic for $6.95- which was just 6 oz of ground chuck.  The waitress suggested that I add some cheese for $.50 and she would bring me the “special sauce” and I could get a smaller version of the Fat bob.  I liked her suggestion and took her up on the offer.  The burgers were all served with fries…no decision to be made there.

fat bob burger

burger and fries

After a short wait, our food arrived.  The fries were hot and crispy.  The hamburger was freshly grilled with melty cheese and had my favorite hamburger lettuce-the shredded kind.  There was a sesame seed bun and the ground chuck was Ok- not real juicy, not real dry.  Overall, the hamburger was good, but not great.  After seeing Susan’s grilled bread, I was longing for a grilled bun.  That would have sent this hamburger over the edge…from OK to great!  Next time, I will definitely ask if I can get the bun grilled!

On a side note, the cook forgot to put the special sauce on my burger and added the normal mayo.  This was fine with me as this is usually how I eat my burgers, but I was wanting something different-  like the special sauce.  Later, the waitress noticed that I didn’t have the side of special sauce and brought one out from me.  But mayo and special sauce was just a little too much moisture in my book.

I have to say the service was great.  Even though she was the only waitress, she always had our glasses full of Pepsi and checked back regularly to see if we needed anything.  I was thinking about giving FatBob’s two forks since the burger was just OK…but the service was too good for that and the food was fresh and hot.  So, I will give Fat Bob’s THREE Forks.

 Susan says…

Fat Bob’s made it on the list of 101 unique Places to Dine in WV.  I am not sure what’s so unique about it other than the fact that the little eatery is located inside a Harley Davidson dealership.  The menu is not particularly unique, servers don’t wear unique uniforms, and the style of the restaurant is typical deli/diner.  Still and all, their membership on the list inspired me to suggest it as a lunch destination.

And it doesn’t hurt that I had a coupon in my Entertainment book for a BOGO sammie.

Easy to find on MacCorkle Avenue in South Charleston, adequate off-street parking is available close to the entrance.  This is the cleanest motorcycle place I have ever been in.  Okay, okay…it’s the ONLY motorcycle place I’ve been, but I was impressed with how neat and tidy everything was. 

The restaurant has about a dozen small tables and some seating at the bar.  It appeared to staff one cook and one server.  They were working hard for the money.  Props to our server – she did a fantastic job taking care of all the customers without letting the stress (she must have been feeling) show.

The menu consists of a nice variety of sandwiches, salads and appetizers.  I think they should put a fish sandwich on there, though.  I chose the H.O.G. Club for $6.50 – turkey, ham and bacon with Swiss, lettuce, tomato and blue cheese dressing.  I was not only allowed to alter the contents of the sandwich, I was invited to do so.  I substituted provolone for Swiss and 86’d the blue cheese dressing.  (In the future I will add jalapenos.)  Sandwiches are served with chips but you can upgrade to fries for $1.25 extra.  Since everyone else was getting fries, I stuck with the chips.

We enjoyed our sodas and conversation until the food arrived.  I would have enjoyed it more had it been Coca Cola products, but our efficient server kept up with the refills.  I honestly didn’t pay attention to the price of the sodas since we had the coupon.  Besides, I am trying to be less nit picky.  (Not really.)

fat bob HOG

H.O.G. sandwich with chips $6.50

This was a beautiful sandwich.  The hoagie bun was warm and toasty, filled with a generous, yet perfectly proportioned, amount of contents.  A handful of fresh standard-variety plain potato chips lay in the basket beside my H.O.G..  And guess what WASN’T in the basket?  That’s right folks.  No offensive pickle!

I de-baconed my sandwich to trade it for some of Dan’s fries and examined the fillings.  The provolone cheese was a thin slice that looked like it came straight from behind the deli counter.  Thinly sliced ham and turkey provided a bed for the three tomato slices and shredded iceburg lettuce.  If you’re gonna use iceburg lettuce then shredded is the only way to go in my book. 

Anxious to take my first bite, it was even better than I imagined.  This could be the most perfectly toasted bun I have ever tasted on a sandwich.  I had to flip it over and take another look at this bread.  Sure enough, the clever cook had slathered butter on the cut side of the bread and slapped it down on the grill until it reached the pinnacle of crispy, golden brown goodness.  Not too crispy, though.  No one is going to break a tooth on this bread.  Biting through the warm, soft exterior of the bun, through the buttery, crispy, toasty side and into the yummy contents…. Mmmmmmmmm……  Can you imagine how delicious a piece of fried fish would be on that bread???

fat bob toasted bun

I had to take a picture of the bread so you could see how wonderful it was.  The picture just doesn’t do it justice.  I am going to start asking, from here on out, wherever I go, if they can butter and grill my buns.

I found out when paying the check, btw our server was also the cashier, that they slice all their meats and cheeses each morning in the kitchen.  Except on Mondays and Sundays when they are closed.

I was able to make the bacon-french fry trade and, for frozen fries, they were good.  They are the kind with the batter coating to make them extra super crispy when fried.  Is it worth a $1.25 upcharge?  You can be the judge of that.  I only had eyes for that H.O.G. 

I can’t wait to come back to Fat Bob’s and get another sammie.  Bob kicks Delish’s hiney.  THREE FORKS for sure!

 

fat bob hot dogs

2 hot dog special

 

fat bob menu

Fat Bob’s Roadhouse Diner
4924 MacCorkle Avenue, SW
South Charleston, WV
(Inside Harley-Davidson of WV)
304-768-1600
Hours: Tuesday – Saturday 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Fat Bob's Roadhouse Diner on Urbanspoon
3 responses to “You Don’t Need a Hog To Enjoy This Food – Fat Bob’s Roadhouse

  1. demosthenes.or.locke

    hot dogs look good but I hate split top buns.

  2. I go for the hot dogs nothing like them they are the best. You have to have load fries with them and a big glass of tea and I call that eating

  3. My husband and I eat lunch at FatBob’s just about every week – we love it! The food and the service are great! I’m not usually a sandwich person, but the Hog Club is about the best sandwich I’ve had anywhere, and we eat at restaurants A LOT!

Leave a Reply

