Why Didn’t We Know About This Place? – Sub Shop

Susan says…

img_4031

 

 

Have you ever had one of those happy accidents where the thing you intended to do became impossible, much to your disappointment, only to do something else which was unplanned, much to your delight? Me too! Isn’t life grand when that happens?

For example, we intended to go to Cilantro’s but the line was pressing against the door and the dining room was already full.  Plan B: Blossom Deli. Fail. Line out the door with a full dining room. After two disappointments with no Plan C in our hip pocket, we meandered toward Capitol Street after leaving Blossom and I noticed a sign in a non-descript brick building across the street which read “fresh-cut fries” and another that said “hamburgers”.  We all agreed that it sounded like our kind of place and hoped there would be empty seats inside.

We lucked out. The tiny dining room seats only about 10 people – three small round tables and a few seats at a bar. What they lacked in seating they more than made up for with menu variety. There were all kinds of hot subs, grilled sandwiches, fries, burgers, wraps, and salads. They even offer breakfast and party trays.

When it was my turn to order I asked some questions.

Susan: First, are the fries homemade on-site? Do you cut actual potatoes into french fries right here?

Nice Lady at the Counter: Yes! (gesturing toward the bin of raw potatoes awaiting their turn in the hot tub)

Susan: (gleeful squeal and clapping)  How big is the half fish sandwich?

Nice Lady: 6 inches.

Susan: oh, great. I’ll take that with fries.

Susan: Do you make the hamburgers here, or are they frozen?

Nice Lady: No, we make them here.

Susan (another squeal and more clapping) I love that!

Nice Lady: would you like to change your order?

Susan: no. I’ll just have to come back again.

And I will come back to the Sub Shop. I want to try the burger and the hot turkey sandwich.  They have multiple cheeses and a pretty nice variety of available toppings for said turkey sandwich.

The fish sandwich was the standard pre-made frozen Pollock rectangle. It was hot and crispy on a toasted bun and you have your choice of lettuce, tomato, tartar sauce, and cheese.  I felt like the fish:bread ratio was a bit off, too heavy on the bread.  I would have been just as happy with a regular round  bun, toasted of course!

img_4027

The fries were the star of the meal. All of us were raving about them. We received them at the counter when they called our number, hot and crispy right out of the hot oil. A nice, generous portion, too.  There are several sandwich places around town that I like, but not many offer fresh-cut fries. These fries will definitely make my Top 5 List.

The prices are reasonable here. Most 6″ sandwiches are around $4 and you can add fries and a fountain drink for about $3 more.

A steady stream of customers flowed in and out while we were seated, picking up their take-out orders.

Another great thing about the Sub Shop is that they print the fat and carbohydrate counts of the components in the build-your-own section and they offer a low-carb wrap. How about that???

A suggestion: why no hot dog? Not a gourmet, all-beef, high-caliber frank, just a regular ol’ cheap WVHD.  I think it would truly complete the menu.

Look for this place – you’ve probably never noticed it before. But it is well-worth searching for a parking spot downtown. THREE FORKS.

Misty says…

While trying to decide where we were going to eat lunch, we happened upon Sub Shop in downtown Charleston.  It has only a small sign outside and a logo in the window.  Let’s just say…I am glad we stopped by.

It was small inside, probably only 3 tables and a bar that lined the back wall.  It appeared as if most people had either called their order in and were picking it up or were placing their order and taking it back to their office.  This would be a great option if you worked in Downtown Charleston. 

There were many subs to choose from- really almost too many.   There were several that looked good to me, but I chose the roasted turkey and bacon with American cheese.  Since I prefer Swiss, I asked if I could substitute, this was no problem.  There were a variety of topping that you could get, but I stuck with my standard lettuce, tomato, mayo.  I chose to make it a combo with the fresh cut fries and a 20 oz drink.

img_4026

Once you order, you are given a ticket and can be seated or just stand and wait for your number to be called.  We were the only ones in there at this time, so luckily there was a table available.  But as soon as we sat down, the people started pouring in.  I figured this meant they had a steady crowd and the food couldn’t be too bad (I was a little worried when we were the only ones in there).

My turkey sub was delicious.  The bread was soft on the inside and then grilled.  The turkey and bacon was also grilled and chopped into pieces (kind of like you would see at steak escape).  I really liked the fact that they did this with the bacon as it made for more of an even distribution on the sandwich.  There was a condiment lady who was cutting the head of iceberg lettuce and putting the remaining toppings on your sandwich before calling out your number.

img_4025

Now, let’s talk about these fries…Boy were they delicious.  I might go out on a limb and give them the best fries EVER.  They were fresh out of the fryer, hot and crispy with just the right amount of salt.  I really like hand cut fries, but my complaint (and personal preference) about most of the places that serve them is…I get a lot of those little slivers of potato skin pieces and not many big pieces of fries.  Not here…I hardly had any of these pieces.  I was in heaven. 

I am looking forward to eating these fries the next time we go back…and we will go back.  I just hope the Sub Shop is consistent and that these fries taste just as good as our first visit.  Oh, and next time, I am saving room for the yummy looking chocolate chip cookies on the counter.

One of my least favorite things to eat for lunch is a sub with chips- that’s just not what I like (and a lot of the delis around Charleston serve just that).  I like the fact that I can get a warm sub with a side of fries (and good fries at that).  I was stuffed when I left The Sub Shop.  The portion size was very adequate for me.

I worked not too far from this establishment a few years ago, but never noticed it.  What a shame…I wish I would have known about this place earlier.  The Sub Shop gets a solid FOUR FORKS!

Sub Shop is open for breakfast from 7:30 to 10:00 and open for lunch 10:30 to 3:00 Monday through Friday.

Sub Shop
807 Quarrier Street
Charleston , WV
304-345-6700
Sub Shop on Urbanspoon
8 responses to “Why Didn’t We Know About This Place? – Sub Shop

  1. Be sure to grab breakfast there sometime!

  2. try the burgers. they taste like — burgers, in all their glory. grab one, an ibc root beer and fries to take back to the office and arouse the envy of all your cubicle-mates. a great, unassuming spot on quarrier.

  3. The double cheeseburger combo is fantastic. Two real hand-made patties with real cheese on each and whatever toppings you want made to order , plus those fries and fountain drink for under $7.

    The meats and cheeses are Boar’s Head and the subs are first class too.

  4. Looks pretty good. Must try a burger.

  5. demosthenes.or.locke

    The turkey bacon sub is damn good too. I am in this place about twice a week and my wife has been bitching about my increasing waistline since march because of it.

  6. Their Steak & Pepper Sauce (Oliverio Peppers from Clarksburg) 1/2 sandwich and fries is a favorite lunch there.

  7. I realize this is a two+ year old post, but they serve hot dogs now and they are GOOD!

  8. If you have never eaten at the Sub Shop believe me when I say “Your missing out on the Best sandwiches and fries you’ve ever had”. I highly recommend this place for eating and the prices are very reasonable. I give it a 5 fork rating! Take the time to visit or call for your order today.

Leave a Reply

