Countdown T-Minus 13 Days – Sitar Lunch Buffet Returns

Susan says…

bloggerhed_blogsoup

I love the Internet.  I love gmail.  I really love googling. And my affinity for twitter keeps on growing.

Quickly becoming my main source of news, I received a tweet from the Gazz linking me to Brooke Brown’s report that Sitar’s lunch buffet will return to hungry Charleston diners on December 1.  That’s in 13 days, folks.

I, for one, will be in the buffet line that week.  Likely standing in line behind Misty who will picking through the pans. 

According to buffet etiquette, is that okay? Specifically, is it okay to pick through the pans or should you just take a scoop and pick through it on your plate at your seat? Furthermore, if you are behind a “picker”, is it okay to pass them and move onto the next bin or are you expected to wait and keep your order in the line? What should you do if you come upon a pan with only one serving left? Do you take the remainder, take half the remainder thus forcing the next patron to empty the pan and carry the guilt related to it, or do you kind of hang around the buffet area waiting on the fresh pan sure to be delivered soon?

These questions and more can be explored now each and every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at Sitar for the bargain price of $8.99 per person.

Sitar of India offers a wide range of Indian dishes for lunch and dinner served in an upscale, comfortable atmosphere.  The buffet will be offered at lunch three days a week. You can read our full review of Sitar here.

Another culinary dream of mine has come true.  Now if Delish would only reopen…

9 responses to “Countdown T-Minus 13 Days – Sitar Lunch Buffet Returns

  1. There was a time I couldn’t drag Susan to Sitar. Now it is one of her “Culinary Dreams”. Wow!

  2. News travels fast through these series of tubes, does it not? Thanks for linking to my post. See you and yours on Dec. 1st!

    Also newsworthy in regards to Sitar… the return of “Heavy-handed” Harry.

  3. The Lovely Miss S

    Great to see the good news spreading!

    I love you series of questions about buffet etiquette, as I am often in a quandry about what to do in the situations mentioned about. I especially hate being behind a “picker” because I say, “hey, there’s a whole pan of this stuff and 20 people behind you, make time, and if you want more, come back.” A picker is almost as bad as the guy who takes 20 minutes augmenting his coffee at the cream and sugar station. Put some stuff in the cup and move on!

    Oh, sorry got a little crazy there…I’ll check my Emily Post tonight to see if our questions can be answered. Then, I see ya at the Sitar! 🙂

  4. Best news I’ve had all day!

  5. I know Misty will be miffed, but I say do your picking on your plate. Take a scoop, pick at you seat and get up and get some more.

  6. In defense of all of the pickers out there, I have to speak up. If you just “take a scoop”, it will contaminate all of your food and it’s wasteful. When people are behind me, I do recognize that and try to hurry up. I try to be a courteous picker! And, I think it is perfectly fine for people to go around me. In fact, I encourage that.

    PS. Susan mentioned she was going to throw me under the bus for some comedic relief. But I didn’t realize she was going to run over me, hold me down and let everyone else run over me, too!

    I know there are other pickers out there…don’t be ashamed!

  7. “Wastefull” it is a buffet.

    “Contamination” it was touching all the other offensive items in the pan.

    Pickers upset the perfect ratio of chicken, beef and shrimp in the triple delight by picking the shrimp out. The only hope for us nonpickers is that there are chicken and beef pickers, too. But I doubt it.

  8. A buffet is a perfect time not to be wasteful. I can control exactly what I put on my plate.

    If all the shrimp gets picked out, then it would at least be double delight…which is better than single delight! Right?!?

    A courteous picker wouldn’t take all of the shrimp anyway.

Leave a comment