WORTH THE HYPE?- “Eh.” ~ FAT PATTY’S

Ashley says…

For months after its target date of May of this year to open, I kept checking every time I drove by the old Shoney’s in Teays Valley to see if the new Fat Patty’s was open. Then finally one day in August, YES! It was finally open and it was packed! Every time since then that I’ve driven by, it’s been the same way, packed! And it appeared that way the Wednesday before Thanksgiving. I got a half a day off of work that day and my husband was off too so we decided to see if it was worth all that it seemed hyped up to be. It was around 2:00 when we decided to go, crossing our fingers we wouldn’t have to wait long for a table. As we turned onto the side road that leads to the Fireside Grill, the Hampton Inn and Fat Patty’s, there it was, what we’ve seen every time we’d driven by, a long line of cars spilling out of the parking lot and lining the road. At least that’s what we thought. As we drove on into the parking lot, we noticed plenty of empty spaces. We went on in the restaurant and were immediately seated in a half-empty dining room. WTH? It made sense as we were leaving. It was around 3:00 and we noticed several employees walking through the parking lot towards the cars parked along the road. OOOOOHHHHH….so THAT’S why it looks so crowded all the time!

The decor of this Fat Patty’s is a lot like the one in Barboursville, wide open with a bar on one end, dark wood booths and trim and lots of green. There is Marshall sports memorabilia and other sports-related items donning most of the walls at both locations. Both locations have several televisions scattered throughout the dining room and a long bar that runs along one whole wall at the back of the building, also littered with tvs.

I’d eaten at the Barboursville location one time a while back and I’d perused the menu online several times so I knew what type of food Fat Patty’s offers. Obviously, they are all about burgers, hence the name. However, they do offer several appetizers, several other sandwich options, salads, and a few other entrees such as grilled steak or chicken with your choice of two sides and bread, chicken tenders or fried fish basket with fries and slaw. These menu items are towards the back of menu, so, they obviously aren’t what Fat Patty’s wants you ordering.

We looked over the appetizers section of the menu hoping something would really jump out at us. You know, something different and unique. All that stared at us were the same ol’ same ol’s you can find at most other sports bar restaurants like wings, nachos, onion rings, quesadillas, fried mushrooms, cheese fries, jalapeno poppers, etc. You know the line up I’m talking about. So with nothing new and exciting to try, we passed. Now it was time for the daunting task of deciding what to order from the huge selection of burgers and sandwiches. I’m really not much of a burger fan, but Fat Patty’s has some that sound delish. I considered getting the Black and Bleu because I love bleu cheese, or maybe the Luau Cow for its ham and pineapple. Hold on, maybe I’ll have the Lasso Patty that has bacon, cheddar and BBQ sauce. Decisions, decisions. Then I looked at the other sandwich options. Boy the Nitty Gritty Grinder (a French dip) sounds pretty good. Oh wait, there’s that ham/pineapple combo on the Hawaiian Ham. Oooooh, a Reuben. Yep! That’s it! I love Reubens and I really wasn’t feeling a burger. So I ordered the Reuben and onion rings instead of potato chips, for an upcharge of $1.25. Husband opted for the WV Steak Sandwich which is grilled thick-sliced bologna, bacon, American cheese, grilled onions, raw red onions and LTM on a sub bun.

My Reuben arrived looking like most other Reubens, on marble rye, which I prefer because there are no caraway seeds, with the usual cast of Reuben characters.

Along side it was a generous portion of previously-frozen onion rings. It was a decent Reuben, but nothing to make me jump up and down over it. Same thing with the rings.

The WV Steak Sandwich was impressive looking, but a little difficult to eat. My husband made a point that bologna is round, so that makes it tough to put it on a long sub bun. The pieces were thick and cut in half. They didn’t stack too well and stacked with all the other toppings made this sandwich a mess. I hadn’t had bologna in years, so my first bite took me back to my childhood when bologna was a staple in my family’s house. This sandwich came with chips.

On my first visit to Fat Patty’s, I got the Low Carb Burger Meal which was a choice of any burger with a side salad. I chose the Lava Patty burger, which is a spicy patty covered with jalapenos and a cayenne cheese sauce. The burger was decent, but again, nothing to write home about. The salad was a very small, boring side salad. My husband had wings that visit at the recommendation of a family member. I tried them and we both thought they were average at best.

I know, I know, it’s a burger place and I should try more of the burgers before giving a proper fork. But I’m usually not a burger person, so the items I have tried are ones that I would get at other places therefore constituting a comparison. For that reason, a proper forking is justified. So here it is. I give Fat Patty’s TWO FORKS. Besides the burger options, the rest of the menu doesn’t offer anything very exciting. Our sandwiches were good, but not blow-you-away good. Overall it got just an “eh” from us. The Fireside Grill has become my favorite restaurant around and I can’t see myself passing it up to go back to Fat Patty’s. As a matter of fact, I felt guilty even going to Fat Patty’s in the first place. I hope nobody from Fireside saw us going in or leaving. Shhhhhhh……

Fat Patty’s

Rt. 34

Teays Valley, WV

(304) 757-5000

 

 

 

4 responses to “WORTH THE HYPE?- “Eh.” ~ FAT PATTY’S

  1. demosthenes.or.locke

    You can’t judge them based on their non-burger offerings. I have not dined at their Barboursville location, but the Huntington location does make an above average burger.

  2. I CAN judge them based on their non-burger offerings since that’s the type of food I typically eat instead of burgers. (And it’s my blog. Neener, neener, neener.) But if you’ll read again, you’ll see the sandwiches weren’t the only things I mentioned. Plus, I DID have a burger once. I was expecting greatness and all it was was blah-ness.

  3. Just when I when I about to delete ForkYou from my bookmarks, along comes a new review! I hope this bodes well for the future. I can’t wait to see what you think of the Quarrier Diner. As for Fat Patty’s, it sounds rather pedestrian.

  4. Jeanette, don’t give up on us yet! I’ve already visited QD for lunch and am planning on trying dinner there after the holidays.

Leave a Reply

