Reviews From the Redneck Riviera: The Sea Captain’s House

Ashley says…

The Sea Captain’s House is a Myrtle Beach landmark that has stood since 1930 when it was built as an oceanfront vacation home for the Taylor family of High Point, North Carolina. Through the years it has changed hands several times, transitioned from a home to a guesthouse and endured several hurricanes.  In the early 1960’s, Sea Captain’s House was transformed to a full-time restaurant and still stands as a popular dining destination today.  Nestled on a little section of beachfront property amongst high rise buildings, the Sea Captain’s house is a nice contrast to the hustle and bustle of its surroundings.

During peak vacation season, Sea Captain’s House stays busy.  My husband and I had eaten there only once before for breakfast so this was a virgin dinner experience for us.  There were a few groups of people milling about at the front of the place so we figured we’d have to wait for a table.  Our wait time was estimated to be 45 minutes.  Not a problem. They have a bar/patio area in the sunroom on the back of the house and a large lawn area that overlooks the ocean.   We stopped at the bar, got a drink, then headed to the lawn.  What better way is there to spend your table-waiting time than seaside with a frosty drink in your hand?  No complaints here.

After waiting about a half hour, we were seated in a little section of the house that may have served as a den or study.  Sea Captain’s House is deceptively large.  It doesn’t look very big from the outside, but when it was a guesthouse years ago, it had nine guestrooms, so you can imagine how many diners it can seat.   However, although the room where we were seated only had six tables, it was surprisingly loud.  And it didn’t help much that two men at different tables thought it was necessary to practically scream at the rest of their parties.  Everyone seemed to be talking over each other.  We did hear an interesting soap-opera-like conversation between a dad and his 20-something daughter about how she’s a spoiled brat and he paid her ex-husband’s $800 in back taxes and gave her $8,000 for  a motorcycle she needed to sell and how the daughter hated her new, much younger, step mom.  Blah blah blah.   Entertaining, yes, but not exactly what we wanted to listen to during dinner.

Our server arrived at our table with a basket of fresh hushpuppies with honey butter (YUM!) and informed us of the specials.  While looking at the menu, we decided on the special appetizer, which was a crab, cream and sun-dried tomato mixture on focaccia for $9.00.  This dish was decent, but we both wished we would have gotten the McClellanville Crab Dip instead.  Other appetizers include crab cakes, blackened sea scallops and grits, crab and avocado remoulade and a couple of shrimp dishes, which are all unique to Sea Captain’s House and freshly made, as is everything on the menu including the salad dressings and desserts.

The menu isn’t large, and for me that’s a good thing.  Too many choices make decision making a tough task for me.  I still had trouble deciding between the Filet of Beef Neptune (grilled beef tenderloin topped with shrimp, crab and Bernaise sauce), the Long Bay Stuffed Flounder and the Sauteed Crab Cakes.   I finally decided on the crab cakes  ($20.95) when I found out my husband was going to order the stuffed flounder  ($21.95.)    Our entrees came with a side salad, our choice of starch and mixed vegetables.   Other menu choices include various salads, several fried and broiled seafood entrees, jambalaya, shrimp creole, pork chops with seasonal fruit chutney and a couple of other steak choices.   Prices are right in line with of most of their Grand Strand competition.

When our entrees arrived, I noticed how pretty they both were on the plates.   I got two crab cakes that were about three inches in diameter and about an inch thick.  They contained a lot of crab and not a lot of filler.  They were very good crab cakes and the white wine dill butter served with them was a nice addition.  I rarely eat potatoes anymore, so the baked potato was a big treat.   My husband’s stuff flounder was stuffed with the crab cake mixture and covered with hollandaise sauce.  The fish was flaky and perfectly cooked and had an ample amount of the crab mixture.   Both dishes were excellent.

I was so stuffed I couldn’t even eat all of the crab cakes.  I rarely leave food on my plate, especially something as valuable as a great crab cake, but I just couldn’t finish it this time.  I saved zero room for one of the homemade desserts, though that was my plan.  We thought about getting something to go, but even decided against that since the walk to the car was going to be a waddle instead.

Sea Captain’s House serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Our previous meal was breakfast.  They offer a buffet in addition to a full menu.  Menu items aren’t your typical selections like you’ll find at one of the many pancake joints along the strip.  Selections include the Sea Captain’s omelet with shrimp, crabmeat, mushrooms and Monterey jack cheese, a brie and bacon omelet and crab cakes benedict.  It’s been over a year since we had breakfast there.   I don’t remember exactly what I had, but I do remember it was a specialty-type French toast with elderberries or something like that with bacon and it was very good.   Each breakfast menu item is served with your choice of orange, grapefruit or pineapple juice which is a nice little treat.

The history and location of Sea Captain’s House alone make it a must-visit.   The food is the icing on the cake.  There aren’t too many restaurants on the Grand Strand that are oceanfront AND serve this quality of food.   The only negative for me was the noise, but I didn’t let that bother me.  Once  I got my food, I was “in the zone” and nothing else mattered.  FIVE FORKS.

Sea Captain’s House
3002 North Ocean Boulevard
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3046
(843) 448-8082
Sea Captain's House on Urbanspoon
6 responses to “Reviews From the Redneck Riviera: The Sea Captain’s House

  1. We dined here during our most recent NMB visit, and agree that it is worth the wait and the cost. I love that you can wait for your table on the lawn in a swing and watch the waves roll into shore.

    We started with the crab & avocado remoulade. Lots of fresh lump crab meat mixed with avocado over baby greens. The perfect starter as it was light & refreshing.

    My husband ordered the pecan crusted grouper. Grouper is my favorite fish, but I couldn’t sample any to comment on as I am currently pregnant and grouper is on the list of fish to avoid. It looked wonderful & hubby gave it the thumbs up. Seriously, that’s all I could get out of him because he wouldn’t stop eating it long enough to comment.

    I ordered the seafood muddle. A mix of fish (which I didn’t eat due to the aforementioned bun-in-the-oven), shrimp, clams, mussels & scallops served in a light tomato broth with potatoes, onions & garlic. This is served with crusty bread to soak up all of the yummy broth. My only complaint about the dish is that my shrimp were slightly overcooked – not to the point of being inedible, but they could have been better.

    Our toddler ordered the kids fried shrimp. This was her first taste of shrimp, and she couldn’t stop talking about how good it was. As a matter of fact, she didn’t stop talking about it until we each tasted it to confirm her assessment. (She became quite the little foodie during this vacation) While she loved it – I again thought that they were slightly overcooked.

    We shared the hot fudge cake for dessert. Ashley, if you get the chance to go back make sure to save room for dessert. The cake was house made as was the hot fudge sauce. It was so good we were fighting over it.

    I asked the waitress about the hot fudge sauce & she informed me that everything but the ice cream (Blue Bell brand) on the dessert menu is made on site by their pastry chef. She suggested that when we return for Thanksgiving to call, and see what his specialty would be for the holiday as we could order a whole whatever to go. She said that last year he made pumpkin cheesecakes that were so good she dreamed about them.

    You are right about the noise level here, but that won’t stop us from revisiting this gem.

    As we are new condo owners in the Grand Strand area, and haven’t been here since we were both tweens, please keep these reviews coming so that we have some guidance during our frequent visits to the area.

  2. Gwyns Mom- I will definitely save room for dessert next time as I intended to the last time. But next time, if I have to I’ll get something to go and have it later.

    As condo owners, we are at MB about 10 times a year. I’ll definitely have more reviews to come (as a matter of fact, I’m working on a couple more as we speak.)

  3. I would love to have your hush puppy recipe they were the best!!

  4. please let me know by email about the hush puppy recipe thanks

  5. please let me know if recipe is available

  6. Betty, this blog isn’t written by the people who own or work at this restaurant. I would try calling the restaurant directly and see if they will give you the recipe.

Leave a Reply

