Bring your Dough – Greenbrier Valley Baking Co.

Greenbrier Valley Baking Co. – Historic Downtown Lewisburg, WV

Dan says…

Lewisburg, West Virginia is a great small town.  Home of the West Virginia State Fair and the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine. They have just about everything you need, soup to nuts, heck they even have a Wal-Mart.  Downtown Lewisburg is home to a small artisan bakery where you can find many irresistible eats. They are so tempting, make sure you bring your dough or you will be sent across the street to the ATM.  This is a cash only establishment.

Display Case

Display Case

You are greeted by a large display case with many freshly baked items.  The first thing you will be tempted by is a large pan of Triamasu for $2.50 a portion. This is a good deal in my book.  It looked so good.  The case has cakes, cookies, brownies, sweet bars, and they have bread, too.  I surveyed the case and decided to try a few different items.  The sacrifices I make for this blog.

The first victim was a triple chocolate mudslide cookie for $1.50. It was very crumbly (is that a word) and had a deep, rich chocolate flavor. The next treat to meet its maker (that doesn’t make much sense) was a  cherry chew for $1.50. This cookie bar is the best cookie I have had (except what my wife makes) in a very long time.  It is dried cherries and toasted almonds on a shortbread cookie base topped with sugar glaze.  When I got home I tore into a french bread demi loaf that set me back only a buck.  It was just how I like it with a tight almost dense interior.

Triple Chocolate Mudslide Cookie - $1.50

Triple Chocolate Mudslide Cookie - $1.50

Now I have been told that you can live off GVBC cherry granola. If you need variety you can rotate in the raisin granola every other day.  You can wash this all down with a refreshing Boylan Bottleworks Ginger Ale made with pure cane sugar. Now if granola and ginger ale aren’t your thing saunter down on Wednesday night from 4:30 to 8P for pizza night.  Watch them make your pizza from the dining room or enjoy the clean valley air on the patio.

Lewisburg might be a little pretentious for some and I have heard this place called the “rude bakery”. This was not my experience. I only wish they would welcome the 21st century with a debit card machine.  Feel free to spend your dough at this THREE Fork establishment.

(304) 645-6159
Greenerier Valley Baking Co on Urbanspoon
Cherry Bar

Cherry Bar

Baking Area

Baking Area

Demi Loaf

Demi Loaf

Ginger Ale

Ginger Ale

Inside of a Demi Loaf

Inside of a Demi Loaf

4 responses to “Bring your Dough – Greenbrier Valley Baking Co.

  1. The ccokie picture looks so good, I can almost grab it through my computer screen.

    And I am glad you gave The Vegetarian Wife credit for her baking skills.

    I have been to GVBC and sampled the tiramisu. I can attest to its deliciousness!

  2. The Vegetarian Wife

    yes- I certainly appreciated the nod to my snickerdoodle cookie and chocolate chip cookie baking prowess.

  3. We lived in Lewisburg when this bakery opened in 2000. IT IS AMAZING!!! The danish brought me back to the 6 weeks I spent in Vienna. Their pizza is still the gold standard for my husband and I. We would bring our babies in for breakfast on Saurdays and enjoyed our time immensely. We miss GVBC since moving away! If we visit Lewisburg this is one of our first stops!

    • Great review and good news… debit and credit cards now accepted!
      Next time your in town, you got to try the Chocolate Chocolate Torte and anything of the new lunch menu!

Leave a Reply

